Uconda Dunn Elected as Southern Economic Development Council State Director

< Back to News

ATLANTA - The Southern Economic Development Council (SEDC), North America’s oldest and largest regional economic development association, will welcome newly elected leaders to the 17-state board of directors in 2024.

Uconda Dunn, vice president of business development for the Greenville Eastern North Carolina (ENC) Alliance, was elected to become the North Carolina State Director. She currently serves on SEDC’s board of directors as the North Carolina Alternate Director.

“To be chosen to lead the North Carolina delegation of SEDC is a true privilege,” said Uconda Dunn. “North Carolina along with the 16 other SEDC states provides a large economic impact, and it is important to continue the work to grow our economies in a regional footprint. I look forward to promoting not only North Carolina but also the Greenville MSA as a destination for business attraction.”

Oppie Jordan of Carolinas Gateway Partnership will fill the role as Alternate State Director for North Carolina. State directors are slated to serve terms of two years, and alternate directors each serve one-year terms. Brian Gwin, Senior Industrial Development Manager at Norfolk Southern, was elected Chairman of the SEDC Board of Directors. All newly elected directors will begin terms on January 1, 2024.

“SEDC members set the global economic development standard as they nurture iconic brands, support emerging technologies that are redefining markets, and develop world-class business environments and opportunities in our communities," stated Council President Matt Tackett. "Our Board reflects the sophisticated Council network that has built the world’s third largest and the best-positioned economy. We congratulate incoming Chairman Gwin and Directors and thank our leadership for an impactful commitment to accelerated progress in the American South.”

Joining Gwin on the SEDC Executive Committee are newly elected 1st Vice-Chair Jana Dyke of Albany-Dougherty (Georgia) Economic Development Commission, 2nd Vice-Chair Tim Weston of Yates Construction, and Secretary-Treasurer Joe Hines of Timmons Group. Scott Poag, W&A Engineering, upon completion of a historic term, will assume the Immediate Past-Chairman position.